Wk2 – Classmate Conversation – Taylor Hirata

artclassDuring class time I met Taylor, and decided to do my classmate conversation with her. The first thing we talked about was what  year we were in. She is a second year at CSULB. When I asked her what her major was and she told me that she was in Speech Therapy. It surprised me to hear that because I had never heard of anyone in that major before. She told me that Speech Therapy involves helping people who have speech problems. She mentioned that speech problems included things such as stuttering or not being able to pronounce certain words. I asked her where she got the inspiration from being in speech therapy considering it isn’t something you hear everyday, and she mentioned it was because her aunt was a speech therapist. I thought it was amazing that she was inspired to do the same thing as her aunt and she was committed to it. I told her where she could be a speech therapist and she mentioned that you could be a speech therapist at a school if you wanted too and that’s where she said she wanted to work at. I told her that was nice of her wanting to work with kids, and that it was something that would make a difference in their lives.

I work with kids myself so I had told her that it takes a lot of patience to work with them, but it was something that was very fulfilling in the end. She herself hadn’t worked with kids before, so I just wanted to give her an idea of how it causes you to learn to be patient and she agreed. After our conversation about her career I asked her where she saw herself in five years. She told me that she wanted to have a stable job and have her own place possibly an apartment. When she asked me about where I see myself in 5 years I also said the same thing, and said that in the end I just wanted to be at peace and be able to pay for everything while enjoying my life. She was really outgoing and was nice, and was cool to hear about such a different career path than I’m used to.

Leave a Reply

