Wk 12 – Art Activity – Ethnography

electric

For this week’s art experience, I kept trying to imagine what it would be like not having any form of electricity. At first I imagined well I could play some music and relax, then I realized oh wait I can’t because it requires electricity. I kept thinking of other ideas and they all went back to the fact that I would be using electricity. When I kept making these realizations, I realized that the experience was going to be interesting and yet difficult. When I was trying to decide what to do on this free night, at first I thought I would read a book near a candle light, but I knew even that would be hard for me because I wouldn’t want to strain my eyes trying to read under the light. So in the end I decided why do anything, but relax on my bed and simply take in the quietness of the night.

At first it was easy because all I had to do was relax, but after a while it started to get harder. The reason for this was because I knew I couldn’t use my phone so I couldn’t text anybody. And also you are so used to checking it when your bored, that it was difficult to not check it when I started to be bored laying in bed. So I tried to take in the night and just appreciate how calm it was and it had helped for a bit, until I realized one thing, I’m a student. This is why it started to become frustrating after a while because I knew there was work I could probably get done, but I knew I could put it off. But I’m typically the student that likes to get a ahead at least a little bit. So I knew that I couldn’t turn on my computer or do my work on my phone. It was possible to probably write down my work on a piece of paper, but my work required the internet so that was out of the question. In a sense, the experience was liberating because of the fact that you seem to be apart from the world and relax, but the time of this wasn’t exactly fitting considering it is almost the end of the semester, so not being able to use my computer or phone was a bit frustrating because I couldn’t do school work. I know that it was only one night, but considering one night could get a lot of work done, for me it was a bit frustrating.

After a few hours of just laying down on my bed, I eventually did fall asleep, and I woke up feeling pretty good the next morning. I’m usually not sleep deprived, I just sleep pretty late probably around 1 or 2 in the morning because I’m usually playing video games. But I’m able to wake up in the morning feeling a bit tired, but I still feel good. Although this is the case I did feel a bit better waking up in the morning because I slept a bit earlier. Honestly if I slept well every night it would probably make me feel better every morning, but I just feel like at night is the only time I could have my time to enjoy myself and do an activity like play video games to get my mind off of school.

I believe that living without electricity is more harmonious with nature because we stray away from the technology that we are so attached to these days and so we go back to appreciating the natural environment around us. I also think that living without electricity is to some degree limited because light is almost essential these days. For example, even if I didn’t want to use any technology , but just wanted to relax and read a book it would be hard to do so without a lamp. I don’t necessarily think that it is boring without electricity, but considering the time we are in you would at least need a light of some kind to do something that will entertain you. I believe that people survived without constant stimulation, but having each other for stimulation. If you don’t know what you are missing out on it won’t affect you as much as knowing what you don’t have. For example, if you live in a area where there is no internet or service, but you have already grown up in that environment it won’t effect you so much not having those services.

Back then they didn’t have any type of tech like we do today, so they would learn to appreciate each other as a people and ideas they all have. Also they would be in nature most of the time and nature in itself is it’s own world that gives constant stimulation and is different and fascinating every day. For me personally my ideal level of life activity and connectivity would be to just be able to use my phone every once and a while and be able to play my music and games. Typically every night or so I like to play video games with my friends and just have a lamp on, so for me I don’t need too much but just enough to keep me entertained either to be able to just watch tv, listen to my record player, or play video games. When I’m outside I wouldn’t always need my phone, but I would just like to know that I have it in case of an emergency. I don’t like to be constantly on my phone all the time, sometimes I just like to appreciate the world around me so for me when I go out I like to enjoy the quality time I’m having with friends while at least know that I could use my phone if I need something.

 

 

Leave a Reply

